Imagine Bioentrepreneurs

CREATING AND GIVING VALUE TO THE SCIENCE/MEDICINE DUO BY PROMOTING THE CREATION OF START-UPS

Research alone is not enough to allow therapeutic solutions to emerge.  […] This unique training program allowed me to acquire a dual scientific/business skill, essential to transform medical innovations stemming from research laboratories in innovative therapies for patients.

Julien Ettersperger, PhD Head of the Biotherapy division at Medicen

The Project

The Imagine Bioentrepreneurs program, created in 2016 in partnership with Université of Paris, HEC Paris and Ecole polytechnique, is a training program aimed at accelerating health-tech start-up projects.

This program is offered to students from different backgrounds: Scientists, Doctors, Pharmacists, Engineers, or Managers. It is also open to independent auditors, Researchers, and young Researchers attracted by entrepreneurship and innovation in the health field.

It is organized as a “boot camp” lasting from 9 to 12 weeks, during which students put into multidisciplinary teams (Entrepreneurs, Engineers, Scientists) work full time on their projects and benefit from personalized coaching and interventions from specialists. These include entrepreneurs in the fields of health-tech, med-tech, and e-health and partners in the bioentrepreneurship ecosystem.

The idea is to put the Institut Imagine’s network at the service of future bioentrepreneurs, to help them in the early stages of the creation of their start-up. 

The Patron will be invited to participate in students selection, the review of start-up applications, and to an annual meeting with the teams selected. From a gift of 250 K€ on, the Patron’s name may be given to one or more Bioentrepreneurs classes.

Context & Objectives

Entrepreneurship is a vehicle for accelerating biomedical innovations. It transforms scientific discoveries into therapeutic solutions. In addition to scientific interdisciplinarity, there must be real “interprofessionalism” at the crossroads of biology, chemistry, physics, management, strategy, finance, and marketing. Imagine Bioentrepreneurs act as a springboard to entrepreneurship and value creation in the biomedical sector, as it accelerates the transition from discoveries to treatments for the benefit of patients.

Since 2016, the program has trained 30 bioentrepreneurs and has been involved in 13 biomedical innovation projects leading to the creation of 5 start-ups. The program aims to train 60 new bioentrepreneurs in 5 years and contribute to the creation of 15 start-ups.

Amount to fund
1,000 K€
Overall funding over 5 years

/ For the recruitment the best Lecturers and Professors

/ For scholarships to selected students

/ For the management, coordination and logistics of the program

Imagine Bioentrepreneurs

Imagine Bioentrepreneurs

CRÉER ET DONNER DE LA VALEUR AU DUO SCIENCE/MÉDECINE EN FAVORISANT LA CRÉATION DE START-UP

La recherche seule n’est pas suffisante pour que des solutions théra- peutiques  puissent  voir  le  jour.  […]  Cette  formation  unique  m’a  permis d’acquérir une double compétence  scientifique/business  indispensable pour développer les innovations médicales issues des laboratoires de recherche en thérapies innovantes pour les patients.

Julien Ettersperger, PhD, Responsable du pôle Biothérapie à Medicen

Le Projet

Le programme Imagine Bioentrepreneurs, conçu en 2016 en partenariat avec l’Université de Paris, HEC Paris et l’Ecole polytechnique, est un programme de formation visant à accélérer les projets de start-up healthtech.

Ce programme est destiné à des étudiants de différents profils : scientifiques, médecins, pharmaciens, ingénieurs ou managers. Il est également ouvert à des auditeurs libres, chercheurs et jeunes chercheurs attirés par l’entrepreneuriat et l’innovation dans le domaine de santé.

Il prend la forme d’un bootcamp d’une durée de 9 à 12 semaines pendant lequel les étudiants mis en équipes pluridisciplinaires (entrepreneurs, ingénieurs, scientifiques) travaillent à plein temps sur leurs projets en bénéficiant d’un coaching personnalisé et d’interventions de spécialistes : entrepreneurs des domaines health tech, med tech, e-santé et partenaires de l’écosystème du bioentrepreneuriat…

L’idée est de mettre le réseau de l’Institut Imagine au service des futurs Bioentrepreneurs pour les aider dans les premières étapes de la création de leur start-up. 

Le donateur sera invité à participer aux sélec- tions d’étudiants, à l’évaluation des dossiers de start-up et à une rencontre annuelle avec les équipes. À partir d’un don de 250 k€, son nom pourra être donné à une ou plusieurs promotions de Bioentrepreneurs.

Contexte & objectifs

L’entreprenariat est un vecteur d’accélération des innovations biomédicales. Il permet de transformer les découvertes scientifiques en solutions thérapeutiques. À l’interdisciplinarité scientifique doit s’ajouter un véritable « inter-professionnalisme » au carrefour de la biologie, de la chimie, de la physique, du management, de la stratégie, de la finance et du marketing. Imagine Bioentrepreneurs est un tremplin vers l’entreprenariat et la création de valeur dans le secteur biomédical pour accélérer le passage des découvertes aux traitements, au bénéfice des patients.

Depuis 2016, le programme a formé 30 Bioentrepreneurs, mobilisés sur 13 projets d’innovation biomédicale donnant   lieu   à la création de 5 start-up. Le programme ambitionne de former 60 nouveaux Bioentrepreneurs en 5 ans et de contribuer à la création de 15 start-up.

Contenu à fiancer
1000K€
Financement global sur 5 ans

À financer sur les 5 prochaines années pour recruter les meilleurs intervenants et professeurs ; financer des bourses d’études aux étudiants sélectionnés ; gérer l’animation et la logistique du programme.